Dissecting Dexter: Starting from the Top!

Now that I’ve finally brought myself to write on the conclusion of the series, it is time to start from the beginning. It seems like the conclusion was so controversial that it has inspired people who have never watched the series before to give it a go. Many fans have restarted the series (just as I will) because they refuse to accept the fact that it is over (like I do).

I will try my hardest to avoid spoiler alerts for the series as a whole, but I will continue my thematic approach. As Christmas presents to myself, I invested in two books that take a critical perspective on the series. I will be adding the voices of these writers to my treatments whenever I can so as to be sure I’m on the right track!

I have not yet decided whether I will write up a treatment for each episode, or write one up for every two or three episodes. I am also half-tempted to write treatments based on recurring themes in each season; however, that could prove to be a bit of a challenge. What I can assure you is that aside from the treatment of the pilot, you will get a treatment which breaks down the opening sequence to our beloved show. I think it is important to consider the pilot in its own treatment as well as the titles.

Treatment Thursday will remain as it is, but if I do decide to write one treatment for two episodes, they will be posted every other Thursday as opposed to once a week.

I will try my very best to be consistent: juggling my final semester of undergrad and my commitment to an online magazine may pose a problem to my endeavors; however, Dissecting Dexter takes precedent!

So for viewers old and new, I welcome you to Dissecting Dexter (if you were not already on board)!

Leave a Reply

