Chicago Tribune: Aimee Garcia Nervous Each Time She’s Handed a Dexter Script

On September 26, 2012, the Chicago Tribune interviewed Aimee Garcia (Jamie Batista) about her role in Showtime’s Dexter. Garcia says that each script is both nerve-wracking and exciting because she never knows what her fate as Harrison’s nanny will be.

“Even if I have an avocado face mask on, I’ll run out when the script comes and snatch it from the messenger and look through it,” Garcia said over the phone from Los Angeles last week. “My friends are always like ‘Are you getting killed off?’ and I’m like ‘I don’t know yet. And even if I did, I wouldn’t tell you.’”

Garcia notes that actors have no clue what is up ahead until they are handed their script for each episode.

She thinks that Jamie has become an integral part of the Morgan family:

“I think (Jamie) has grown to love Harrison more than ever and has really become a part of Dexter’s nuclear family,” Garcia said. “She’s essentially a mother figure for Harrison. … And she’s got that creepy boyfriend (Louis). You never know what will happen there – especially on a show like this.”

Click here to read the full interview.

Leave a comment