The Books

JL Jeff Lindsay released the first book of the series, Darkly Dreaming Dexter, in 2004, which would be the first of seven installments of the popular series. The writing team for the series adopted the books; readers will find that the entire plot of the first novel is the source for many of the overarching story lines of the Showtime series, although I’m not complaining. I only read the first novel out of the series; what I found disconcerting was the fact that the vibrant characters we have come to love in the series are background noise or not nearly as vivid in the books. The humor and Dexter’s perspective are notably darker and creepier than the series, which, in reflecting, makes me want to go back and see what else Jeff Lindsay wrote about. Click each image below to view the novels on Goodreads, which provides summaries, ratings, and reviews.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s